I don’t live alone

I’m a 30-year-old woman, and I don’t live alone.

I live with my boyfriend fiance, our dog and our two cats.

A couple times a week (if I’m lucky) I go running with my dog toward a small park. We run to the park, and around it so I can take my dog off the leash, and then we run home.

I like to listen to mostly bad music really loudly in the shower. I use Pandora or an iPod playlist.

I play ball every morning with my dog before work in our not-so-big backyard. He gets the deck in the backyard really muddy.

I watch the Daily Show from the night before while I eat breakfast in the morning. Then I put my dishes in the dishwasher.

I have a closet and a half full of just my clothes. I also have another closet all to myself for miscellaneous items. We have a lot of stuff, it’s not hidden anywhere.

We keep the heat really low in our house when we sleep. I still get hot sometimes, because we snuggle up under the down comforter. The dog sleeps on the floor next to me. He won’t sleep on his bed unless it’s next to me.

On weekends during the day, I usually do something productive, and then have nap time.

I no longer watch TV in bed on weeknights. I miss it a bit. 

I rarely have nights where I eat a single person’s dinner, like cereal or eggs or taco bell. Usually I eat with Trevor or we have some leftovers I can eat.

We don’t have cable, and watch Netflix or DVDs exclusively. Our parents can’t believe we would miss the Broncos games! Somehow we survive.

I haven’t taken a bath since I moved in here.

I still go to bed early as often as possible. I got Trevor into it and he often wants to go to bed before I do. My new problem is that I get incredibly chatty when he prefers to be asleep.

I still watch embarrassing TV. Netflix has all the episodes of 19 Kids and Counting! But together we watch more respectable shows, like Breaking Bad or Orange is the New Black.

We clean sometimes even if no one’s coming over. It’s fun to have a cleaning partner.

My toiletries are kept in a giant bin under our bathroom sink. And two other bins in our bedroom closet. Occasionally it’s hard to find stuff.

I park on the driveway. I still have to scrape my car off when it snows, but I never have to spend time searching for a spot or carry groceries blocks and blocks and up a lot of stairs.

We used to eat at the table more often, but currently we’re way into watching Orange is the New Black while we’re eating.

I like to watch TV and browse the internet simultaneously. I do that less often now.

I haven’t lived alone for about 7 months. I don’t think I’ve ever been happier. 

 

 

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

