Spring is springing

The weather here in Colorado has been very spring-like. Not enough for me to put my guard down…I know that March and April can be our snowiest months. I keep waiting for the sunny, 60-degree weather to turn into 3 or 4 feet of snow. But March is almost over and it hasn’t happened yet.

Spring weather brings with it many joys: one of which is frolicking (literally) outdoors. A couple of weeks ago, my cousin invited me over for dinner at her house. It was the first day of daylight savings, and the weather was perfect. I arrived as the food was still cooking, so I went outside with my cousin’s four-year-old daughter, Jasmine, to play “butterfly” with her. The game was simple–run around the yard and flap your arms like wings. She got a kick out of telling me which direction I should run and telling me to run faster (she liked the determined look I got on my face when I tried to run really fast.) We both giggled and had a ball. Then everyone came out to see what we were doing, and Jasmine and I didn’t like to play butterfly with an audience so we went inside to play Barbies.

It’s not 100% weather-related, but my activities have picked up, and I have a feeling they will continue to do so. Soccer started again last week. Originally, I was only going to sign up for outdoor soccer on Sundays. But then we didn’t know if we’d have enough people so I signed up for the Friday night indoor league as a back up. We ended up having both teams and they started the same week. So now I play soccer twice a week.

My tendonitis started hurting again, so I was pretty worried about what was going to happen when I played soccer with all the running, zig-zagging, kicking and tackling that takes place. But to my surprise, I felt completely fine even after soccer on Friday and a 90-minute full-field game Sunday at which we had no subs. Distance running still hurts it a bit, but I’m not sure if it’s my shoes or my stride, or what.

I plan to continue to heal and increase my activity level. I signed up for a work softball team, I might join a kickball team, and I’m thinking about training for a triathlon in July.

In the meantime, I joined a new running group on Tuesday nights with my new friend Rudi. We run around Wash Park and then go grab beers/food at a pub afterwards. And I went to the most intense yoga class of my life last night with my friend Kathryn! I plan on continuing to go to that. It’s not only a good workout/stretch, but it seems to relax my mind. I slept better last night than I have in weeks, with no dreams about work!

Apart from outdoor activities, I also got sworn in as a Court Appointed Special Advocate a few weeks ago. I will be responsible for speaking out in court on behalf of abused and neglected children. It’s a big responsibility, and a big commitment, but I think it will be very worthwhile.

In the negatives department, there’s been some job insecurity going around. Big time. There’s nothing to do except put my head down, work hard, and hope that we make it through this.

Besides the job security, I truly feel like everything else is falling into place. It takes a while to adjust to a new life, but I feel like that’s finally happening for me. Job security would definitely be a bonus, since many of the things that are going well for me right now have to do with settling into my role, getting along well with my co-workers, and finding a good routine. But whatever happens, I will handle it.

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Endings/Beginnings, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring is springing

  1. gin says:

    Springtime in Colorado…there is nothing I miss more.

    By the way, in July we’ll be in Denver and guess where we’re staying? At a friend’s house in….Wash Park. We have to have dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

