Three days still isn’t enough

One of the many perks of working for a non-profit is that we get a few more holidays than some for-profit companies do. This weekend, for example, we got President’s Day off.

I was looking forward to a productive, relaxing break from the work week. Work has been stressful, I started volunteer training (six hours a week for the next four weeks), and things have just been crazy.

That’s why one of the last things I wanted to hear as I was getting ready for a long run on Saturday morning (after a late night out and a long work week) was my mom saying, “I’m heading to Home Depot for some paint supplies! Be at your place in an hour and a half!”

We had discussed possibly painting my apartment. In my mind, it always seemed like a nice idea, but probably too much work to ever commit to. My mom came over one day with some paint samples and we saw some colors we liked, but still all of this seemed hypothetical to me. Like, if we were to paint, this is the color we’d choose. Isn’t it nice to think about what the wall would look like with this color? That really was the extent of the painting, in my mind.

That’s why her phone call seemed pretty out of the blue. And my much-beloved Saturday morning ritual of going for a long run, coming home and eating a big breakfast while watching “I Used to Be Fat”, and then doing some light napping…was not going to happen.

She said she’d be over in an hour and a half. So I ran for 45 minutes, and thought I could squeeze in a shower and a condensed breakfast before she got here. No such luck. She was here within an hour and ten minutes of calling, and I had just stepped out of the shower.

I was a little stressed when she got here. I was hungry, nap was calling my name, and painting was honestly the last thing I wanted to do. Plus, I had been invited at the last minute to see Ke$ha with some co-workers, and I knew I had to be well-rested if I was going to hang out with teeny-boppers all night.

Luckily, I had never once hinted to my mother that I was a big fan of painting. And I hope you won’t judge me too harshly when I tell you that I let her haul all the supplies in out of the car, tape up the walls, and paint while I accidentally fell into a mini-coma on the couch. (Ok, it’s not entirely true. I taped some of the walls. And I filled in some small spaces after I woke up from my nap…in a much better mood, I might add.)

By the time I had to leave for Ke$ha, “we” got all the walls painted with one coat. “We” just need to do some touch-ups here or there and some designer touches with the shelves. This is just another example of why living near family is so great! Free painting services. The color has added a lot of depth and character to the space already. When it’s completely finished, I’ll post photos.

Yes, I went to Ke$ha. In my defense, some of my favorite co-workers found themselves with an extra ticket, so I got to go for free. The show was horrible, but so horrible it was great. I had a blast with my co-workers, and I must say, it was one of the best nights I’ve had in a long time. I won’t get into any Ke$ha specifics, like the fact that I’m pretty sure she wasn’t singing at all, and I’m also not even sure if the girl with blond hair in her face on the stage was, in fact, Ke$ha. Doesn’t matter, really.

The theme of the weekend continued on Sunday when I went to brunch with a friend and then went to my parents’ house to nap on their couch while they made me a delicious dinner.

Monday I ran errands and went dog shopping. I didn’t get a dog, but I think it’s only a matter of time until I do.

I almost feel like after this 3-day weekend, I came out of a fog. Things have been happening so quickly, and I’ve been in a daze. Today I finally noticed I was singing along to the radio again instead of driving in the car deep in thought.

You forgive me for not posting more often, don’t you?

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three days still isn’t enough

  1. robin says:

    oh WHO, how I miss you!! I love reading your blog and knowing what’s going on in your life. I feel like we’re besties!

  2. Lauren says:

    Yeah, I guess I’ll forgive you. Jerk.

    ….soooo when are you coming to visit Boston?

Leave a Reply

