We can be better

I’ve debated about writing this post all week.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, or if you know me well in person, you may know that I used to LOVE the Today Show. In Boston, I would get ready for work 40 minutes ahead of time so I could plop down on the couch and enjoy some uninterrupted time with Meredith and Matt. And, I was known for crying while watching the Today Show. I would often tear up during some sort of touching human interest story.

But this year, my relationship with the Today Show has changed. Partially because I leave for work much earlier now, so I only get about 15 minutes of it a day, and partially because we live in a country full of idiots.

I have never been more disappointed in my fellow Americans than I have this year. We have people threatening to burn the Qur’an, people first complaining about national security than crying over TSA agents who are just trying to keep us safe,  and more issues that I won’t go into for fear of offending people.

This week, as in days past, I cried while watching the Today Show. But not happy tears during a story about heroism or reunited family members. I cried about what is now being known as the “Tragedy in Tuscon”, and I cried out of sadness and frustration.

Really, when something like this happens I’d like to just ignore it and go on with my business. I’d honestly like to just pretend it never happened and change the channel. But when I heard on the Today Show that people were at least partially blaming Sarah Palin for these shootings, I became extremely frustrated.

Now, I don’t like Sarah Palin any more than I like mullet-style hair cuts, but having her shoulder any of the blame for this is utterly ridiculous.

First, I want to say that some people are just insane and they do crazy and tragic things.

But with that in mind, I think we can all have a positive influence on what happens in the world. Coincidentally, this week I’ve been working on a blog for work called “Kindness is Contagious” (yes, I get to blog at work.)

I’m going to keep the idea of that blog in mind instead of pretending that this tragedy never happened, and I hope you will too.

That’s all I wanted to say.

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We can be better

  1. Anne says:

    I jumped here from Lauren’s blog; I’ve been picked to send you an (awesome) running mix. When you have a chance, can you email me your address, and maybe the type of music you absolutely can’t stand (so I can try to steer clear from that)? Thanks!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

