Extra Holiday Pounds

What is it about the holidays that sends everyone into a baking frenzy? I’m not exactly sure what it is. All I know is that I ate many-a-baked-good this holiday season: at work, at home, at parties, everywhere.

At one point in my parents’ house, we had:

  • Homemade, hand-frosted sugar cookies (our yearly tradition)
  • Peanut butter cookies topped with Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • Cherry crisp
  • 7-layer cookies
  • Pumpkin bread pudding with ice cream
  • Various pieces of chocolate and candy from our stockings

And that was only because we didn’t take home the banana cream pie and pumpkin pie we brought over to my aunt & uncle’s for Christmas.

It actually didn’t take long at all for all of those treats to disappear (for example, one morning I was pretty hungry so while my breakfast was cooking, I had a couple bites of cherry crisp and a peanut butter cookie. Then later I had a sugar cookie to finish my coffee with, and after dinner I had some pumpkin bread pudding.)

I left the house for a few days to cat-sit and when I came back, my dad had just returned from the store. He proudly announced he’d purchased chocolate-chip cookie dough, peanut butter cookie dough, graham cracker pie crust and cherry pie filling. I was completely shocked because I’d been thrilled that the house was now baked-good free. My parents calmly explained they were upset with the sudden lack of desserts in the house. Obviously they were suffering from sugar withdrawal (truly).

The point is, I think it’s pretty common for people to overeat during the holidays. In fact, my suspicion is confirmed every time I watch TV. To me, it seems like a diet industry’s dream to have the new year come right after the time where we all shove our faces with tons of food.

There are so many options to lose this weight, I can’t decide which to choose:

  • I could buy some shoes or clothes that automatically “tone” my legs, butt, thighs, etc. How wonderful to just walk around normally and suddenly find myself with a perfect ass!
  • I could do the “alli” diet. Just have to be careful about anal leakage. Small price to pay to be hot, I think.
  • I could take some other diet pill to increase my metabolism or decrease my appetite or whatever else they are supposed to do. Never mind that pills from diets past have been proven to cause heart problems.
  • If I drink 5-hour energy in the morning, I’ll have so much energy that I’ll have to work out IMMEDIATELY. (Let’s not point out I’ve been swimming twice a week at 5a.m. for the past couple of months with no energy drink assistance.)
  • I could join a gym and promise myself I’ll actually go. Oh wait. I already go to a gym regularly.

It’s a tough choice. I’d better watch more commercials to help me decide.

What’s your plan for losing holiday weight? I really think the magic shoes might be the best bet.

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extra Holiday Pounds

  1. Lauren says:

    Since I never weigh myself I can’t be too sure, but I don’t think I gained any weight over the holiday. I mean, maybe it helped that I ran 17-miles at one time, but it’s not like I kept myself from eating a ton of cupcakes and nearly giving myself diabetes to cope with my parents’ visit. Who knows.

    My goal? Just to keep up with the healthy lifestyle. Currently my plan is just to eat as healthy as possible and to not bake anything sweet for the month of January to help break the sugar high!

  2. juliemcg says:

    But Lauren, why try to live a healthy life when there are all these easy outs? I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

