Let’s start at the very beginning

This is the sunrise this morning from the back patio at work (I got here really early). It was gorgeous. Obviously the camera on my phone doesn’t do the colors justice.

So I’ve been blog-absent for a while. There just hasn’t been enough going on to call for a blog post, really. Plus I’m lazy.

I had a wonderful Christmas. It was great to not have to brave busy airports and delayed flights to come home for Christmas this year. I had an amazing time with my family and new and old friends.

One of my family’s favorite traditions is going to Waffle House for dinner on Christmas Eve. It started a few years ago when we had gone to see a play downtown. We’d rushed out of the house to get there without eating, and after it was over, it was really late and we were all STARVING. We couldn’t think of anywhere to go that would be open except Waffle House.

So we rolled in there at about 11:00p.m. in our Sunday best from the theater. It was smoky and there were some interesting characters there. But the food was delicious.

Best fried egg sandwiches ever (oh yeah vegan has been out the window since after Thanksgiving. Might return to it…might not.)

And waffles. We have other more conventional traditions, of course, but this one is unique to us and we all love it.

Now that Christmas has passed, I’m looking forward to the new year.

When I was in high school, I remember feeling like each January was a completely new start. It was a new year, a new semester, a new schedule, and new classes. Nothing from the semester before had to carry over: not my grades, not my routine, not my attitude.

This year not so much is going to be new, but I still feel the excitement that comes from a new beginning. With that in mind, I’ve made a couple of New Year’s resolutions. The first can be summarized into one word: Trust (mostly in myself, also in general that things will work out and I don’t need to worry). And the second, now don’t laugh, is going to be a bit harder. The second goal is to post on my blog every day. Funny, right, since my last post was officially 20 days ago? But I’m thinking maybe just a sentence here or there or a photo. I have a WordPress app on my phone now so it should be do-able? Right? We’ll see.

In 2011 I’m looking forward to many things:

  • Living alone for the first time
  • Settling into my job and doing well at it
  • Meeting new friends
  • Eating well
  • Running lots of races

Speaking of running, I’ve been doing better. I’ve really had to just start all over at the beginning by training my body and mind to run again. I’ve gone from one mile at a time to three, which is good. But my ankle is still sore afterwards and I’m out of breath and miserable for most of the run. My mental toughness has gone right out the window. It was beautiful out yesterday and I ran 3 miles around the lake, which honestly felt like some of my 8-milers used to, mentally. But it was necessary after the holidays since I watched an MTV True Life called “I’m Addicted to Food” and it hit a little too close to home.

I’m excited to continue to improve and to get back to where I was (or better) as I plan my race schedule for 2011. I truly love trail running. Who knew?

2010 was an amazing year. It was the year I got my Master’s degree, the year I finally moved home, the year I found a great job in a tough economy, a year of travel, friends, and familiy.

I have so much to be grateful for, and so much to look forward to in 2011!

I’ll leave you with a small gift. This horse and his friend mysteriously appeared on my desk one morning. The dude is Indiana Jones, but he’s wearing He-Man’s mullet. Enjoy:

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Endings/Beginnings, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

