Thankful

“The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance. The wise man grows it under his feet.” -James Oppenheim

There came a time in my life when I realized that Christmas mornings were never again going to meet or exceed my expectations. When I outgrew the idea that an Easy Bake Oven or a Go-Go My Walkin’ Pup would suddenly make me the happiest person alive, Christmas morning just didn’t quite have the same magic as it did before.

It was then that I realized Thanksgiving is truly the best holiday of the year.

If we set aside Thanksgiving’s politically incorrect history, and just focus on the idea that it’s a day to be with family and friends and be grateful for what we have, then I think it’s probably the best day of the year.

I’m so grateful that I get to be home for Thanksgiving this year. Thanksgiving in Madrid last year was fun, but nothing compares to being with family (although I’m still not quite sure which foods I will partake in and which I won’t.)

And I’m thankful for the following:

  • Friendships that span years, cities, states, continents
  • Earning a living with a job that stimulates and challenges me, that allows me to do things I love while still working towards the greater good
  • The option to move out and be independent or stay at home and save money
  • Generous, patient, and loving parents
  • Colorado
  • Health insurance
  • Family members that live nearby
  • New opportunities
  • Surprises

And so much more.

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

