Love your body=Love yourself

Today is National Love Your Body Day!

What does loving your body mean to you?

For me, the answer is twofold:

It means taking good care of yourself by eating well and exercising (in a way that you enjoy!)

And it also means accepting yourself as you are.

I’ve briefly mentioned the ways my eating habits have changed, and obviously the trail running has led me to exercising more often (and enjoying it much more!) and I think I’ve also mentioned a couple of things about body image.

But I really think that these two concepts go together hand in hand: Love yourself enough to take care of yourself, and love yourself as you are.

Eating well means eating for health, not starving yourself or doing some sort of fad diet. Showing yourself this kind of care can only lead to good things.

And I think it’s easy to strive for a perfect body. But not only is that not realistic, but it doesn’t honor who you are. Be kind to yourself. Treat yourself the same way you would treat an old friend, and accept some of your imperfections as part of what makes you unique.

I don’t mean to imply that I eat perfectly all the time, or that I absolutely love what I see every time I look in the mirror. But I am striving to take good care of myself physically and mentally, and I encourage you to do the same. You are, after all, your best ally.

This is not a typical post for me, but here it is. Short, sweet, and to the body-loving point.

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

