Did I mention I graduated?

I hope you’ve been enjoying the Morocco story. Don’t worry…not all my travels will be explained in that much detail. It’s just that I loved Morocco. My sister hated it. Except for that one night at dinner (you know the one.)

I launched so quickly into my travels that I neglected to blog about another life event: My graduation! So without further adieu, here are some graduation photos!

Here is a photo of me and my…uh…class? The people I spent the entire year hanging out with and presenting lesson plans to!

We are in one of the prettiest buildings at the Universidad de Alcalá. The same building I saw Zapatero—the president of Spain—give a speech in back in 2005.

I was lucky enough that my sister was there for graduation. Most of these photos are from her camera.

That’s me receiving my fake diploma and unofficial transcripts and giving the program director two kisses. I know it’s not a great photo, but I figured a graduation post should contain at least one action shot.

This is where we sat for the ceremony.

And these are my boyfriends.

Remember when I went to Asturias on a road trip at the beginning of the year? This is the crew. So much changes in 10 months.

Kelly and Stefanie. I miss them so much already! Especially Kelly’s confidence-boosting compliments.

Having my sister present for graduation also meant I had the chance to show her around the small town I studied abroad in (Alcalá de Henares). It is a charming place!

The main square is filled with roses and almond trees. Storks make nests on the rooftops of the historical buildings.

It’s also the birthplace of Miguel de Cervantes. This is my sister in front of his house along with Don Quijote and Sancho.

That pretty much wraps up graduation. It was more photos than story. Although I will mention I paid 20 Euros for my sister to be able to attend because there was a luncheon afterwards, and she absolutely hated all the food! Money well spent. The good news is that we went somewhere afterwards to watch the world cup and they gave away entire slices of pretty good pizza with each drink as the “tapa”.

The main point is that now I have a Master’s. Hooray!

But still no job (hence the dramatic rise in number of blog posts.)

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Endings/Beginnings, Madrid and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did I mention I graduated?

  1. robin inks says:

    OH MY GOSH!! seeing photos of alcalá makes me sad! and i totally thought, before you mentioned it, that it was the very same room where we met Zappy! oh whooooo, you’re so lucky to have been back there and seen our favorite place. did you happen to see brace-face?

    • juliemcg says:

      Robin! I love visiting Alcala although it’s never the same without you girls! The Artist Formerly Known as Braceface was not there. In fact, Kroxan is still a cafe but named something else (I’m guessing it’s changed owners more than once.) So, that made me kind of sad, but POLLO DE ALCALA is still there, and still delicious!!

  2. Lauren says:

    1) you are pretty. 2) your hair is so shiny! 3) I love your graduation dress. 4) i am not surprised that your sister hated so many things.

    good luck on the job hunt! my new job, on the other hand, is out of control! let’s chat this weekend! (CALL ME!)

Leave a Reply

