A long December…

2009 is coming to a close, and it’s time for a new year–and a new decade–to begin.

2009 has been a year of changes and adjustments. I left my job in Boston to move to Spain with a plan of returning to Colorado when my Master’s is finished.

Moving back to Spain was a really big adjustment. For starters, I never in my wildest dreams imagined I would be going back to Spain. Then suddenly, there I was and it felt very surreal. In the first three months I had to adjust to becoming a student again (I’m actually still adjusting), make new friends, suffer through a month of living with a total creep, survive being homeless for two weeks, and learn how to be a teacher in a foreign school.

Just as everything was beginning to fall into place, I headed home for the holidays for a much-needed break. When I go back, I hope I can pick up where I left off and that it will more or less be smooth sailing until the end of June when my program finishes.

I realize the next six and a half months might be my only opportunity for a long time to spend time in Europe. I hope to enjoy it fully.

But at the same time, I feel really excited that I finally know where I want to live and what I want to do. I feel like I can hardly wait to begin a life here in Colorado, and I also feel afraid that something might happen between now and July that will stop me from being able to do it. That’s silly, though, and once I’m in Colorado I’m sure I’ll be thinking back to my days in Spain and wishing I still had the same opportunities.

Anyway, goals for 2010? Let’s see:

  1. Get in shape. I know I’m not alone on this one…it’s the most cliché resolution to have. But seriously, I need to do this one.
  2. Enjoy life. Spaniards often wear shirts with (grammatically incorrect) English phrases on them. Shortly before Christmas break, I saw a girl wearing a shirt that said, “Enjoy your life.” So simple, and yet so difficult! Especially when I feel like I have no time, I become a little high-strung, as I have been for the past few months in Spain. I’m going to try to relax for these next few months and just enjoy myself and have a good time (while still getting all my work done, obviously.) Such a simple concept: Enjoy life! I think it’s what Eckhart Tolle has been trying to say all along.

I think that’s it. Be healthy and have fun; sounds like a plan to me!

I hope you had a wonderful 2009 and I wish you health and happiness for 2010!

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in Endings/Beginnings, life, Madrid, Travel preparations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

