Giving Thanks

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I like it because, unlike other holidays, there isn’t the pressure of having great expectations. All you expect on Thanksgiving is to be around family and to eat a lot of food.

This year, I will be far from my family on Thanksgiving. However, I do plan on celebrating it here with friends.

To me, Thanksgiving a time to be grateful for what we have. This week, I’m making my second graders write a letter to someone they are thankful for. I’m pretty sure they have no idea what their letters say or what thanksgiving is, or even what country I’m actually from, but hopefully one or two of them caught on.

This is what I am thankful for this year:

1. My family. Each passing year I come to appreciate my family more and more. This year especially. I’ve been reading a pregnant friend of mine’s blog, and it got me thinking about how wonderful unconditional love is. It also got me thinking that the only people who love you unconditionally are your family members. They love you unconditionally because you are their [son, daughter, sister, brother, cousin, etc.] and that’s the only reason they need. I plan on working more in the coming year on loving my family unconditionally, just because they are mine.

I’m extremely grateful that I get to go home to Colorado in about a month to spend a couple of weeks with them.

2. Old and new friends. I am so grateful to have so many people in my life! Some are far away, some are here in Spain. Old friends know you deep down and understand you. New friends challenge you, introduce you to new things, and get to know who you are in your life now. I am a better person because of every person who is in my life.

3. My life, right now, as it is. We spend so much time waiting for our lives to be perfect. People think, my life will be perfect when __________ (I find the right person, I get a better job, etc. etc.). I am so grateful for my life right now how it is! I have all that I need right now and I’m trying to enjoy every minute of this experience.

4. New challenges. My fondness for changing locations so often has definitely made my life more challenging at times. But conquering challenges helps me be more sure of who I am, and gives me experience to take on future challenges. I look forward to taking on more challenges in the coming year (not TOO many, I hope 🙂

5. Opportunity. I have been fortunate in my life to have been given many wonderful opportunities, such as this one. I hope to make the most of it.

6. Blog readers. 🙂

What are you thankful for? As someone who is not religious, I look at the holiday season as a time to celebrate the things in my life I am grateful for. What a wonderful season to spend with the people I care about most!

(This post makes me think I’ve been reading too many mommy blogs. Sarcasm…where are you today?)

About juliemcg

Marketing, writing, editing, traveling, social media-ing woman from Colorado.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks

  1. Lauren says:

    Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, too! I am sooooo thankful for this here internet-thingy to help me keep up with you! Can’t wait to see you in a month!!!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

